Our people


Principal investigators


drummond-alexei

CCE Director

Professor Alexei Drummond 
Professor of Computational Biology – Department of Computer Science
Phone: +64 9 373 7599  ext 88298
Email: alexei@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Epidemiology, Ecology, Phylogenetics Software Development

dsc_20343

Deputy Director

Dr David Welch
Senior Lecturer – Department of Computer Science
Phone: +64 9 373 7599  ext 88930
Email: david.welch@auckland.ac.nz 

Research interest: Epidemiology

QuentinAtkinson

 

Associate Professor Quentin D Atkinson
Associate Professor – School of Psychology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599  ext 84316 
Email: q.atkinson@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Culture & Language

Staff2015-7 smaller

 

Dr Simone Linz
Lecturer – Department of Computer Science
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 81983 
Email: 
s.linz@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Mathematical phylogenetics

 

anna

 

Dr Anna Santure
Lecturer – School of Biological Sciences
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83801
Email: a.santure@auckland.ac.nz 

Research interest: Ecology

 

russel-gray

 

Professor Russell Gray
Professor – School of Psychology
Director, Department of Linguistic and Cultural Evolution, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88525 
Email:
rd.gray@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Culture & Language

 

Thomas Buckley_field_resized

 

Associate Professor Thomas Buckley
Associate Professor - School of Biological Sciences
Research Leader - Invertebrate Systematics, Landcare Research Maanaki Whenua
Phone: +64 9 574 4116
Email: BuckleyT@landcareresearch.co.nz

Research interest: Ecology

Peter_again

 

Associate Professor Peter Wills
Associate Professor - School of Physics
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88889 
Email: p.wills@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Evolution of biological functionality

matthew egbert

 

Dr Matthew Egbert
Lecturer - Department of Computer Science
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87027
Email: m.egbert@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Evolution of biological functionality

 

James Russell

 

Dr James Russell
Senior Lecturer - School of Biological Sciences & Department of Statistics
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88745 (DDI +64 9 923 8745)
Email: j.russell@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Conservation biology

Top

Administration


Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 4.31.26 pm

 

Carmella Lee
Centre Establishment Manager
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87578
Email: carmella.lee@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Research fellows


dsc_19749

 

Dr Remco Bouckaert
Senior Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85506 
Email: remco@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Phylogenetic software development, Language & culture

joseph-h

 

Dr Joseph Heled
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85506 
Email: jheled@gmail.com

Research interest: Language & culture

Georgianne_Griffiths

 

Dr Georgianne Griffiths
Marie-Curie Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext. 82632 
Email: g.griffiths@auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Ecology

 

dsc_19774

 

Dr Tim Vaughan
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85506 
Email: tgvaughan@gmail.com

Research interest: Phylogenetic software development, Epidemiology

 

Luke-Maurits-e1397444243234

 

Dr Luke Maurits
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85506 
Email: luke@maurits.id.au

Research interest: Language & culture

PierredeVillemereuil_2

 

Dr Pierre de Villemereuil
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 
Email: pierre.de.villemereuil@mailoo.org

Research interest: Ecology

Top

Programmer


dsc_20350

 

Dr Walter Xie
Research Programmer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87458 
Email: walter@cs.auckland.ac.nz

Research interest: Phylogenetic software development

 

Top

Students



Andrew Dopheide
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 
Email: a.dopheide@auckland.ac.nz
Thesis title: Metagenomics and molecular ecology in a model ecosystem

 

Alex Knight
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: akni352@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 

Kate Lee
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
E-mail: klee555@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Thesis title: Exploring the adaptive potential of hihi (stitchbird, Notiomystis cincta)

 

Benjamin Potter
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87458
Email: bmyl026@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 

Huw Ogilvie
PhD Student, Research School of Biology, ANU
Phone: +61 2 612 51097
Email: huw.ogilvie@anu.edu.au
Thesis title: Novel methods for species tree inference using genome-scale data

 

Alex Popinga
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87458
Email: alexpopinga@gmail.com

 

Oliver Sheehan
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: oshe008@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 

Victoria Twort
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 
Email: vtwo001@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Thesis title: Genome evolution, speciation and molecular population genetics of giant weta

 

Joseph Watts
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: joseph.watts@auckland.ac.nz
Thesis title: The cultural evolution of religious belief and practice

 

Chen Wu
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 
Email: cwu457@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Thesis title: Genomic basis of olfactory reception, digestion, sexual traits and parthenogenetic reproduction in a New Zealand stick insect

 

Jordan Douglas
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 extn 87459
Email: jdou557@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Thesis title: Mutational robustness of overlapping genes in RNA viruses

 

Jonathan Klawitter
PhD Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 extn 87459
Email: jkla325@aucklanduni.ac.nz
Thesis title: Spaces of phylogenetic networks

 

Florian Pichlmuller
PhD Student
Phone: +64 373 7599
Email: f.pichlmuller@auckland.ac.nz
Thesis title: Genetics and genomics of the black rat (Rattus rattus) in New Zealand

 

Seung-Sub Choi
Masters Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: scho249@aucklanduni.ac.nz

 

Brendan Hughes
Masters Student
Phone: +64 9 373 7599
Email: bhug017@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Top